Chasing Raxeira

The Sun was about to set that day. And because of my house is facing East, when the Sun is about to set, it would be at the back at my house. My house has a lot of windows, so, it look nice on the floor, walls, and all the furniture when the sun is shining up there.

I found on the Internet, there is noun in Galician “raxeira”, means: line drawn by the sunlight on the floor as it filters to the window. It is nice when you always have a word to call things. Maybe that’s why we have learn other countries language, because when our language doesn’t have the word for something, we can always find it in another language.

I was standing by the window that afternoon, drown myself in such a melancholic in intense laziness kind of feeling. You know that feeling, when you are sad about something that you don’t know where it comes from or what is that all about, and it makes you too lazy to do anything. You’re just let yourself consumed by that feeling, watch your surroundings as your mind fill with question that you wonder, are you allowed to ask those question at all.

The Sun was about to set, but its light was still shiny. There are like less than 2 hours before the sky is getting dark, and as I stand still, I saw these raxeira around me. So, I decided to ignore the melancholy I felt inside and took my phone on the bed to follow where the light guided me.

Another afternoon well spent at home, I believe.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Can you see the dust on the mirror? I think, that’s the best part of this ordinary picture. Looks so meaningful, if you see it as something that exists in our daily life, but its presence is so low that we forget they are around.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

You should see when raxeira get raxeira-ed.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Close the curtain, and then have a nice nap. So, I will lay with you and just forget the world. Forever if we have and endless rain till the end of time.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

If it’s on the walls, do we still called it raxeira?

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

It’s raxeira butterfly shape on curtain.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

Sticker on my bedroom window. It’s garden with only one flower grows. No need to water them too.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

It’s a long sticker. This one is somewhere in the middle. I freeze the butterfly for accessory.

Processed with VSCO with b5 preset

This one is my favorite.

Because the light allows us to see the dust and peep inside the room behind it. Also, the window glass reflect something in front of it. And the way that light irradiated the wall and the window glass half by half just so heart-warming, that I forget 15 minutes before I was drowning in unexplainable melancholic feeling.

So, if another time the melancholic in intense laziness kind of feeling, come in random times, maybe we can chasing raxeira to get rid of that.

But, don’t run away too much, because that feeling could be a bless if you treat it well.

Leave a Reply

